U.S. Rep. Chris Murphy, D-5th District, trotted out a long list of endorsements today, just two weeks into his campaign for the Senate in 2012.

House Speaker Chris Donovan of Meriden, a potential candidate to succeed Murphy, is on the list of some five dozen of legislators, town chairs and other activists in the 5th District.

Of course, one benefit of endorsing early is the political equivalent of getting on a “do not call list.”

Here is the list:

Rep. Cathy Abercrombie, Meriden
Hon. Bruce Adams, Kent First Selectman
Rep. David Aldarondo, Waterbury
Rep. Buddy Altobello, Meriden
Tom Bartram, Sharon Democratic Town Chair
Rep. Jeff Berger, Waterbury
Ned Bixler, Goshen Democratic Town Chair
Audrey Blondin, 30th District State Central Committeewoman (representing Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington (part), Warren, Washington and Winchester)
Tina Brockett, Roxbury Democratic Town Chair
Rep. Larry Butler, Waterbury
Hon. Frank Chiaramonte, Harwinton First Selectman
Bill Conti, Litchfield Democratic Town Chair
Rep. Michelle Cook, Torrington
Ned Cullinan, Waterbury Democratic Town Chair
Joe DaSilva, 24th District State Central Committeeman (representing Bethel (part), Danbury, New Fairfield and Sherman)
Mike Demicco, Farmington Democratic Town Chair
Ernie DiPietro, Cheshire Democratic Town Chair
Speaker of the House Chris Donovan, Meriden
Harriette Dorsen, Cornwall Democratic Town Chair
Hon. Susan Dyer, Norfolk First Selectman
Ed Edelson, Southbury Democratic Town Chair
Dianne Eppinger, 24th District State Central Committeewoman (representing Bethel (part), Danbury, New Fairfield and Sherman)
Ken Esposito, Bridgewater Democratic Town Chair
Chris Gaffney, Avon Democratic Town Chair
Marie Galbraith, Thomaston Democratic Town Chair
Dave Gentile, Wolcott Democratic Town Chair
Hon. Mary Glassman, Simsbury First Selectman
Rep. Bob Godfrey, Danbury
Tod Jones, Kent Democratic Town Chair
Joe Keneally, Sherman Democratic Town Co-Chair
Hon. Matt Knickerbocker, Bethel First Selectman
Rep. Chris Lyddy, Newtown
Glenn McLeod, Torrington Democratic Town Chair
John McNamara, New Britain Democratic Town Chair
Drew Morten, 32nd State Central Committeeman (representing Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Middlebury, Oxford, Roxbury, Seymour (part), Southbury, Thomaston, Watertown and Woodbury)
Holly Murtha, New Fairfield Democratic Town Chair
Dave Olson, Bethel Democratic Town Chair
Theresa O’Neill, Bethlehem Democratic Town Chair
Mary Palmer, Canaan Democratic Town Chair
Joni Park, Brookfield Democratic Town Chair
Lesa Peters, Woodbury Democratic Town Chair
Emma Pierce, 6th District State Central Committeewoman (representing New Britain, Berlin and Farmington)
Hon. Curtis Rand, Salisbury First Selectman
Hon. Gordon Ridgway, Cornwall First Selectman
Rep. Linda Schofield, Simsbury
Sen. Joan Hartley, Waterbury
Andy Shapiro, Washington Democratic Town Co-Chair
Sharon Sherman, 32nd District State Central Committeewoman (representing Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Middlebury, Oxford, Roxbury, Seymour (part),
Southbury, Thomaston, Watertown and Woodbury)
Larry Sweeney, Morris Democratic Town Chair
Rep. Joe Taborsak, Danbury
Lyn Taborsak, Danbury Democratic Town Chair
Rep. Peter Tercyak, New Britain
Jeff Tindall, Simsbury Democratic Town Chair
Mary Tomolonius, Canton Democratic Town Chair
Myrna Watanabe, Harwinton DTC Chair & 8th District State Central Committeewoman (representing Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, Granby (part), Hartland, Harwinton (part), New Hartford, Norfolk, Simsbury and Torrington)
Chris Wazorko, Plainville Democratic Town Chair
Mark Weber, Sherman Democratic Town Co-Chair
Rep. Roberta Willis, Salisbury
Dan Zabel, Burlington Democratic Town Chair
Steve Zerio, 13th District State Central Committeeman (representing Cheshire (part), Meriden, Middlefield and Middletown)

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment