Gov. Dannel P. Malloy had no explanation today for why commissioners held over from the administration of his predecessor received longevity payments — the retention bonuses received by many state employees, including those who were work for the General Assembly.

“Actually, I will look into it,” Malloy said after a speech to the chamber of commerce in Meriden. “I don’t have an answer to that.”

The commissioners of banking, correction, veterans affiairs, higher education, emergency management and mental health received the bonuses, following past practice. But Malloy had indicated he would stop the payments to employees where he had discretion, a point raised by Jon Pelto, a blogger critical of the governor.

Pelto lists these bonuses paid to commissioners:

Leo C. Arnone of Correction, $5,600; Howard F. Pitkin of Banking, $4,800; Peter Boynton of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, $3,600; Linda L. Schwartz of Veterans Affairs, $2,400; Michael P. Meotti of Higher Education, $1,400; and Patricia Rehmer of Mental Health and Addiction Services, $1,400.

Avatar photo

Mark PazniokasCapitol Bureau Chief

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment