Malloy names Sandy Hook advisory members

Gov. Dannel P. Malloy today released the names of the Sandy Hook Advisory Commission, the panel he created last week to examine gun control, school security and mental health issues arising from mass shooting of 20 students and six educators in Newtown.

Its membership includes the former Hartford police chief and state public safety commissioner, and educators and mental health professionals, including the chief psychiatrist at Hartford’s Institute of Living.

Six of the 15 new members have a background in mental health, six have expertise in public safety. One member is a teacher from Newtown.

The chairman, Mayor Scott Jackson of Hamden, was announced last week.

The other members:

Dr. Adrienne Bentman – Director, Adult Psychiatry Residency Program, Hartford Hospital’s Institute of Living

Ron Chivinski – Teacher, Newtown Middle School

Robert Ducibella – Founding Principal, DVS Security Consulting and Engineering

Terry Edelstein – Nonprofit Liaison to Governor Malloy

Kathleen Flaherty – Staff Attorney, Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut, Inc. / Facilitator and State Trainer, National Alliance for Mental Illness in Connecticut

Dr. Alice M. Forrester – Executive Director, Clifford W. Beers Guidance Clinic, Inc.

Dr. Ezra Griffith – Professor Emeritus of and Senior Research Scientist in Psychiatry, Deputy Chair for Diversity and Organizational Ethics, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University

Patricia Keavney-Maruca – Member, State Board of Education / Former technical high school teacher

Christopher Lyddy – Outgoing State Representative, 106th Assembly District of Newtown / Program Manager, Trainer & Consultant, Advanced Trauma Solutions, Inc. / Former Program Director, Youth Equipped for Success!, Forensic Health Services, Inc. / Former Clinical Supervisor, Juvenile Risk Reduction Center, Community Solutions, Inc.

Denis McCarthy – Fire Chief, City of Norwalk

Barbara O’Connor – Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police, University of Connecticut

Wayne Sandford – Professor, University of New Haven, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences / Former Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Emergency Management & Homeland Security / Former Fire Chief, Town of East Haven

Dr. David J. Schonfeld – Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement / Professor, University of Cincinnati Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Harold I. Schwartz – Chief Psychiatrist, Hartford Hospital’s Institute of Living

Bernard R. Sullivan – Former Chief of Police, City of Hartford / Former Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Safety / Former Chief of Staff to House Speaker Tom Ritter