Gov. Ned Lamont will not seek an extension of his executive order requiring state employees to be vaccinated against COVID-19.
The state has fined 26 providers a combined $221,000 for not reporting their vaccination rates by the deadline.
Connecticut’s new public health commissioner supports a vaccine mandate for children once it receives full FDA approval. She’s not alone.
Some 227 bus drivers are refusing to get vaccinated or take the tests.
Connecticut’s COVID-19 landscape has changed rapidly in recent weeks.
The vaccine mandate for nursing home workers goes into effect three days before Lamont’s emergency powers are set to expire.
Vaccine mandates, education cited as helping to get the most buy-in.
“This should further reassure those who decided to wait,” Deidre Gifford, Connecticut’s acting commissioner of public health, said.
Workers at long-term care facilities must be vaccinated by Sept. 7 or their workplaces will face a $20,000 daily penalty.
Most hospitals will require workers to be vaccinated against COVID by Sept. 30, even though workers’ vaccination rates have slowed.