The House Democratic majority announced nine new committee co-chairs Friday night as J. Brendan Sharkey of Hamden prepares to succeed Chris Donovan as speaker of the House next month.

Four of the joint House-Senate committees — Energy and Technology, Government Administration and Elections, Human Services and Labor — will have two new House and Senate co-chairs. The Senate leaders were announced Monday.

The authority to name new co-chairs belongs to Sharkey, who is now holds the No. 2 post of House majority leader. With the backing of the majority, he will be elected speaker Jan. 9, the first day of the 2013 session.

Joe Aresimowicz of Berlin already has been chosen by the Democratic majority to succeed Sharkey as majority leader.

The new assignments were released without comment by the leadership, as was the case with the Senate.

Chris Perone of Norwalk succeeds Jeff Berger as co-chair of the Commerce Committee. Berger, a runner-up in the race for majority leader, becomes one of seven deputy speakers.

Lonnie Reed of Branford is the new co-chair of Energy and Technology, succeeding Vickie Nardello, who lost her re-election campaign.

Linda Gentile of Ansonia is the new co-chairwoman of the Environment Committee, succeeding Richard Roy, who did not seek re-election.

David Baram of Bloomfield is the new co-chairman of General Law, succeeding Joseph Taborsak, who did not seek re-election.

Ed Jutila of East Lyme is the new co-chairman of Government Administration and Elections, succeeding Russell Morin, who is becoming a deputy majority leader.

Peter Tercyak of New Britain is the new co-chair of Labor and Public Employees, succeeding Zeke Zalaski, who did not seek re-election.

Cathy Abercrombie of Meriden is the new co-chair of Human Services, succeeding Tercyak.

Jason Rojas of East Hartford is the new co-chairman of Planning and Development, succeeding Gentile.

Susan Johnson of Willimantic is the new co-chairwoman of Public Health, succeeding Betsy Ritter, who becomes a deputy speaker.

Elissa Wright of Groton is the new ranking member of Regulations Review.

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment