President Obama declared Connecticut a major disaster area again, this time for the severe winter storm that hit the state March 8 through March 11.

The designation means all Connecticut counties, and the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Tribal Nations located within New London County, are eligible for federal money to help them pay for snow removal. For most counties, the federal help will be limited to state and local snow removal expenses incurred in a 48-hour period.

But for Hartford and New Haven counties, that eligible time period was extended to 72 hours.

Ana has written about politics and policy in Washington, D.C.. for Gannett, Thompson Reuters and UPI. She was a special correspondent for the Miami Herald, and a regular contributor to The New York TImes, Advertising Age and several other publications. She has also worked in broadcast journalism, for CNN and several local NPR stations. She is a graduate of the University of Maryland School of Journalism.

Leave a comment