Lembo files for re-election

Comptroller Kevin Lembo is filing papers Tuesday to create a candidate committee, a legal step that makes him a candidate for re-election in 2014 and allows him to begin raising $100 in qualifying contributions for public financing.

Lembo is expected to be joined eventually by the rest of the constitutional officers, all Democrats, in seeking another term. None have shown signs of retirement, and all but Treasurer Denise Nappier are in their first term.

Gov. Dannel P. Malloy, Lt. Gov. Nancy Wyman, Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, Attorney General George Jepsen were elected to their first terms in 2010. Nappier was elected in 1998.