Howard Pitkin

Howard Pitkin intends to retire as the state banking commissioner in January, while Myra Jones-Taylor will return as commissioner of the Office of Early Childhood, the administration of Gov. Dannel P. Malloy said Friday.

Howard Pitkin
Howard Pitkin

With those announcements, Malloy has revealed the status of all but three commissioners as he approaches the start of his second term: Joette Katz of children and families, Dora Schriro of emergency services and public protection, and Terrence W. Macy of developmental services.

Three other commissioners are serving as interim appointees.

Jones-Taylor oversees the state’s early childhood programs, which serve children from birth to age 5. Initially created by executive order, the office did not gain department status until July, when her rank changed from director to commissioner.

Pitkin, a career civil servant with a 40-year career in state government, was named as commissioner in 2007 by Gov. M. Jodi Rell and reappointed in 2011 by Malloy. The governor said he will name a successor to Pitkin in coming  weeks.

“Howard Pitkin has dedicated his career to ensuring that Connecticut consumers have confidence in their banking institutions, and on behalf of the state I can affirm that we are all grateful for the energy and commitment that he has given,” Malloy said. “This is undoubtedly a loss for the state, but I am certain that he is leaving an office that is stronger because of his efforts.”

All commissioners whom Malloy intends to keep must be formally reappointed and face legislative confirmation after the governor begins his new term Jan. 7.

The governor now has five vacancies among department heads: the commissioners of banking, consumer protection, education, insurance and motor vehicles. At least 13 others are staying in their current posts.

Melody Currey, the motor vehicles commissioner, is moving to the Department of Administrative Services, succeeding Donald DeFronzo, who is retiring.

The governor also has yet to name a new general counsel.

The Malloy 2.0 Scorecard
Malloy is dribbling out his reappointments, so we’re keeping a scorecard of who is staying for his second term.
Job Name Staying Departing Unknown
Chief of staff Mark Ojakian *
OPM Ben Barnes *
Counsel Luke Bronin *
Communication Director Andrew Doba *
Administrative Services Donald DeFronzo *
Aging Margaret Gerundo-Murkette Interim
Agriculture Steven Reviczy *
Banking Howard F. Pitkin  *
Children & Families Joette Katz *
Consumer Protection William M. Rubenstein *
Correction Scott Semple Interim
Developmental Services Terrence W. Macy *
Early Childhood Myra Jones-Taylor *
Economic Development Catherine H. Smith *
Education Stefan Pryor *
Emergency Services Dora B. Schriro *
Housing Evonne Klein *
Military Thaddeus J. Martin *
Energy & Environment Robert J. Klee *
Insurance Thomas Leonardi *
Labor Sharon M. Palmer *
Mental Health & Addiction Patricia Rehmer *
Motor Vehicles Melody Currey  Moving
Public Health Jewel Mullen *
Rehabilitation Services Amy Porter *
Revenue Services Kevin Sullivan *
Social Services Roderick L. Bremby *
Transportation James P. Redeker *
Veterans’ Affairs Joseph Perkins Interim
Avatar photo

Mark PazniokasCapitol Bureau Chief

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment