Special elections for vacancies in the General Assembly are scheduled for April 25 in the 7th House District of Hartford and 68th House District of Watertown and Woodbury.

The resignations of Sens. Eric Coleman, D-Bloomfield, and Rob Kane, R-Watertown, set off a chain reaction: Rep. Douglas McCrory, D-Hartford, resigned after winning Coleman’s seat on Feb. 28; Rep. Eric Berthel, R-Watertown, resigned after succeeding Kane.

Democrats won a 79-72 House majority on Nov. 8. The split is now 78-71.

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment