Robert W. Megna
Robert W. Megna
Robert W. Megna

Rep. Robert W. Megna, D-New Haven, who adopted a consumer advocate’s role as co-chair of the Insurance and Real Estate Committee, added his name Saturday to the list of legislators who will not seek re-election to the General Assembly this fall.

“It has been an amazing experience of empowerment for the betterment of the people of not only my district but of all Connecticut,” Megna said.

Megna is 19th legislator in the 151-seat House and the 21st overall to announce his retirement. Two of the 36 senators also are not seeking re-election.

Megna was elected in 2000, unseating Republican Chris DePino.

House Departures
Ten Republicans and nine Democrats have announced they will not seek re-election to the House. Two senators, Democrat Andrew Maynard and Republican Clark Chapin, also are retiring.
District Incumbent Party Previously Held First elected
2 Dan Carter Republican Democrat 2010
14 William Aman Republican Democrat 2004
37 Ed Jutila Democrat Democrat 2004
45 Paul Brycki Democrat Democrat 2014
50 Mike Alberts Republican Democrat 2004
55 Gayle Mulligan Republican Republican 2014
56 Claire Janowski Democrat Democrat 2000
59 David Kiner Democrat Democrat 2010
60 Peggy Sayers Democrat Democrat 1998
64 Roberta Willis Democrat Republican 2000
66 Craig Miner Republican Republican 2000
67 Cecilia Buck-Taylor Republican Republican 2012
74 Selim Noujaim Republican Democrat 2002
79 Frank Nicastro Democrat Democrat 2006
90 Mary Fritz Democrat Republican 1983
97 Robert W. Megna Democrat Republican 2000
103 Al Adinolfi Republican Democrat 1998
135 John Shaban Republican Republican 2010
138 Janice Giegler Republican Democrat 2002

Mark is the Capitol Bureau Chief and a co-founder of CT Mirror. He is a frequent contributor to WNPR, a former state politics writer for The Hartford Courant and Journal Inquirer, and contributor for The New York Times.

Leave a comment